chain_gang1
Dee (2nd right) pictured during happier times at a C Wing maximum security bingo night

 

A 23-year-old serial burglar from Whitechapel in East London has revealed, that following his conviction for breaking and entering in 2012, he was driven to an austere Victorian building where uniformed staff forced him to spend time in a small room with no handle on the inside of the door.

Alfie Dee, an unemployed car mechanic with 127 previous convictions for housebreaking, told The Whelk: “It was absolutely criminal the way I was treated. As soon as I arrived I was strip-searched and given a towel, a blanket, and a toothbrush before being ushered into this little room with just a bed, a toilet and a sink in it. If that wasn’t bad enough, the prison officer then locked the door and walked off. I tried to get out but there was no handle.

“I had to sit on the bed and watch afternoon telly for over 2 hours before another officer came in with a tray with my dinner on it and a cup of tea. I told him I preferred coffee after dinner but he just ignored me and locked the door again.”

Dee claims that he was subjected to similar treatment on a daily basis for three years, with only occasional breaks to play table tennis or lift weights, until his ordeal ended when he was given parole in January of this year.

Dee is now suing The Home Office for compensation, claiming inhumane treatment. Initially, his case was being handled by the prominent human rights lawyer, Michael Mansfield QC, but he later refused to represent him after Dee broke into his London home and stole his DVD player.

